The mission of the Johnstone Educational Foundation is to support the educational future of insurance industry leaders through providing scholarship funds to deserving students on a non-discriminatory basis who are interested in pursuing a college level course of study in the field of business administration and insurance.


In 1984 the membership of AIPAGIA established the AIPAGIA Educational Foundation as a 501 (c)(3) public tax-exempt charitable organization, independent of AIPAGIA, for the purpose of providing financial support to college students who are pursuing an education and career in the field of business administration and insurance.

In 1990, AIPAGIA and the insurance industry suffered the loss of a great friend and supporter with the untimely passing of then AIPAGIA Executive Director, Jack Johnstone. As a means of memorializing Jack’s contributions to the industry the AIPAGIA Educational Foundation Board of Directors changed the name of the Foundation to The Jack B. Johnstone Educational Foundation.

In 2001, Bill Johnstone, who had proceeded his brother, Jack, as Executive Director for AIPAGIA, retired. As an acknowledgement of Bill’s contributions and hard work on AIPAGIA’s behalf, The Jack B. Johnstone Educational Foundation’s Board of Directors once again renamed the Foundation to the Johnstone Educational Foundation.

Although the Foundation has gone through several name changes, it has remained unwavering in its commitment to the betterment of the insurance industry.

2021 JEF Scholarship Recipient

My name is Madison Browne. I am a Junior at Appalachian State University in Boone, North Carolina. I am a double major in Finance & Banking and Risk Management & Insurance with a minor in Criminal Justice. In my free time, I enjoy doing research, hiking, and playing ultimate frisbee!

I am honored to be the recipient of the AIPAGIA’s 2021 scholarship. I am very grateful for this opportunity to pursue my degree in Finance & Banking and Risk Management and Insurance at Appalachian State University. With your contribution to my financial need, I plan to pursue a career in the academia-side of flood/disaster insurance. My educational pursuits would not have been possible without your generous donation. Thank you for enabling me to reach my fullest educational and future goals.

Thank you!


2020 - Tessa Phelps, Appalachian State University

2019 - Paria Esmaeelzadeh, University of Georgia 

2018 - Harrison Rudolph, Florida State University

2017 - Sara Ploch, Illinois State University

2016 - Adam Beach, Illinois State University

2015 - Stephanie Hilliard, Florida State University

2014 - Frank Busch, Illinois State University

2013 - Dana Thomas, Illinois State University

2012 - Austin Grant, Illinois Central College

2011 - Elizabeth Tengler, Olivet College

2010 - Alex Ketay, llinois University of Law

2009 - Matthew Tyler Warren, Misissippi State University

2008 - Tiffany Calhoun, Temple University

2007 - Jonathan Crisol, St. John's University
2006 - Carrie Murray, Northwestern University