The mission of the Johnstone Educational Foundation is to support the educational future of insurance industry leaders through providing scholarship funds to deserving students on a non-discriminatory basis who are interested in pursuing a college level course of study in the field of business administration and insurance.


In 1984 the membership of AIPAGIA established the AIPAGIA Educational Foundation as a 501 (c)(3) public tax-exempt charitable organization, independent of AIPAGIA, for the purpose of providing financial support to college students who are pursuing an education and career in the field of business administration and insurance.

In 1990, AIPAGIA and the insurance industry suffered the loss of a great friend and supporter with the untimely passing of then AIPAGIA Executive Director, Jack Johnstone. As a means of memorializing Jack’s contributions to the industry the AIPAGIA Educational Foundation Board of Directors changed the name of the Foundation to The Jack B. Johnstone Educational Foundation.

In 2001, Bill Johnstone, who had proceeded his brother, Jack, as Executive Director for AIPAGIA, retired. As an acknowledgement of Bill’s contributions and hard work on AIPAGIA’s behalf, The Jack B. Johnstone Educational Foundation’s Board of Directors once again renamed the Foundation to the Johnstone Educational Foundation.

Although the Foundation has gone through several name changes, it has remained unwavering in its commitment to the betterment of the insurance industry.


Tessa Phelps is a first-year student at Appalachian State University and is expecting to graduate in May 2022. She is currently earning her bachelor’s degree in Actuarial Science with a Statistics minor. She is an active member in Appalachian’s Actuarial Science club, and she will be serving as the club’s social chair for the upcoming school year, as well as getting involved in her school’s chapter of Gamma Iota Sigma, a risk management and insurance fraternity. Tessa also plans to participate in an internship next summer to gain experience in her career field and to learn more about her major. 


2019 - Paria Esmaeelzadeh, University of Georgia 

2018 - Harrison Rudolph, Florida State University

2017 - Sara Ploch, Illinois State University

2016 - Adam Beach, Illinois State University

2015 - Stephanie Hilliard, Florida State University

2014 - Frank Busch, Illinois State University

2013 - Dana Thomas, Illinois State University

2012 - Austin Grant, Illinois Central College

2011 - Elizabeth Tengler, Olivet College

2010 - Alex Ketay, llinois University of Law

2009 - Matthew Tyler Warren, Misissippi State University

2008 - Tiffany Calhoun, Temple University

2007 - Jonathan Crisol, St. John's University
2006 - Carrie Murray, Northwestern University